Local History Collections

Collection ID: LH-MISC MSS
Location: LH-MISC MSS

(Description ID: 595747)

Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential Library & Museums

Ohio Miscellaneous Patents, Deeds, Commissions, and Warrants


Scope and Content

The documents in this collection were donated to the Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential Center in 2014.

Scope and Content
This collection of documents, dating from 1836 to 1888, was originally donated to the Wood County (Ohio) History Museum over a period of years. They were de-accessioned as a group and donated to the Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential Center in 2014.  All documents appear to be Ohio related. Several pertain to the same individual. Below is an itemized list, giving the names, date, and type of document.

Ac. 5875
19 Items

  • Declaration to Sheriff of Erie County, 1844
  • To the Sheriff of Huron and Erie Counties, 1847
  • John M. Brown Commission as Notary Public, 1874
  • Land grant to Oliver Smith, 1852
  • Land grant to John Smith, 1853
  • Land grant to Asa Adams, 1854
  • Land grant to James Rainey, 1837
  • Warrant for Daniel W. Holland, 1862
  • Warranty deed from R. C. McComb to James Curry, 1887
  • Patent to Harmon W. Landrock
  • Land grant to Thomas McFadden, 1841
  • Land grant to Jacob Hochstetter, 1841
  • Land grant to Samuel McCory, 1835 then to S. M. Stockslager, 1888
  • Copy of Land grant to John Neigh, 1837
  • Copy of Land grant to Samuel Davis, 1836
  • Land grant to Allen Harris, 1854
  • Land grant to Elizabeth Stephenson, widow of David Stephenson, 1854
  • Declaration of Deputy Postmaster, Sandusky, for John M. Brown, 1858
  • Declaration of Notary Public John M. Brown, 1868